Pirelli World Challenge at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park

This weekend, all of Pirelli World Challenge’s various classes will descend upon Canadian Tire Motorsports Park (CTMP) near Clarington, Ont. for a full weekend of racing.  There will be six races (three each on Saturday and Sunday) to whet the appetites of race fans.  As of right now, 102 teams are entered in the various classes.

In the headlining Sprint-X category, there are 33 cars entered.  The GT class sees one major driver change.  TR3 Racing, which won the penalty-plagued Race No. 1 at VIR, has replaced former Formula One racer Andrea Montermini with Niccolò Schirò.  Schirò is a 23-year old racer out of Italy with experience in sports car racing and open-wheeled competition.  He’s currently racing in the Campionato Italiano Gran Turismo in their GT3 class.  He races a Ferrari 488 GT3 on a regular basis, so he comes into Pirelli World Challenge already familiar with his equipment for his debut.

Also, R. Ferri Motorsport will field two cars this weekend.  In addition to the full-time No. 61 for Kyle Marcelli and Alex Riberas, the team has entered their Ferrari 458 GT3 for Terry Borcheller and Marc Muzzo.  Borcheller is a longtime veteran of sports car racing best known as a champion in 2001 (American Le Mans Series, GTS class) and 2003 (Rolex Sports Car Series, Daytona Prototype class).  More recently, as rides have dried up, Borcheller has focused on running Motorsports Ministries, a group that provides religious services at races.  Borcheller’s teammate, Muzzo, has most of his experience in Ferrari Challenge.  He has one previous Pirelli World Challenge start, back in 2015 at CTMP.  He failed to finish.

Entry List: Pirelli World Challenge Sprint-X at CTMP

Class Team Drivers Car
GTS Pro-Am 02 – VOLT Racing Alan Brynjolfsson
Chris Hall
McLaren 570S GT4
GTS Pro-Am 09 – The Racers Group Jerry Kaufman
Kyle Tilley
Aston Martin Vantage GT4
GT Am-Am 007 – The Racers Group Drew Regitz
Kris Wilson
Aston Martin Vantage GT3
GT Pro-Am 013 – R. Ferri Motorsport Terry Borcheller
Marc Muzzo
Ferrari 458 GT3
GTS Pro-Am 017 – Case-It Racing Trent Hindman
Adam Merzon
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR
GTS Am-Am 018 – Case-It Racing Philip Bloom
Cameron Cassels
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR
GTS Am-Am 019 – Stephen Cameron Racing Ari Balogh
Greg Liefooghe
Aston Martin Vantage GT4
GT Pro-Pro 2 – CRP Racing Ryan Dalziel
Daniel Morad
Mercedes-AMG GT3
GT Pro-Pro 3 – Cadillac Racing Johnny O’Connell
Jordan Taylor
Cadillac ATS-V.R.
GT Pro-Pro 4 – Magnus Racing Pierre Kaffer
Spencer Pumpelly
Audi R8 LMS GT3
GT Pro-Pro 6 – K-PAX Racing Jonny Kane
Bryan Sellers
McLaren 650S GT3
GT Am-Am 7 – Scuderia Corsa Martin Fuentes
Stefan Johansson
Ferrari 458 GT3
GT Pro-Pro 8 – Cadillac Racing Michael Cooper
Ricky Taylor
Cadillac ATS-V.R.
GT Pro-Pro 9 – K-PAX Racing Ben Barnicoat
Alvaro Parente
McLaren 650S GT3
GT Pro-Am 14 – GMG Racing James Sofronas
Laurens Vanthoor
Porsche 911 GT3 R
GT Pro-Am 16 – Wright Motorsports Jan Heylen
Michael Schein
Porsche 911 GT3 R
GT Pro-Am 23 – M1GT Racing James Dayson
David Ostella
Audi R8 LMS Ultra
GT Am-Am 30 -…

Continue reading from the original source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *